

A California not-for-profit membership organization

Executive Board

President Hon. Holly Fujie Los Angeles County

President-Elect Hon. Audra Ibarra Santa Clara County

Secretary Hon. Michelle Ahnn Los Angeles County

Treasurer Hon. Terry Truong Los Angeles County

Immediate Past President Hon. Roberta Hayashi Santa Clara County

Judicial Appointments Committee Hon. Richard Sueyoshi Sacramento County

Hon. Lee Tsao Los Angeles County

1st District Representative Hon. Raj Chatterjee

2nd District Representatives Hon. Christopher Lui Hon. Jana Seng

3rd District Representative Hon. Joginder Dhillon

4th District Representatives Hon. Winston Keh Hon. Nhan "Nathan" Vu

5th District Representative Hon. Sonny Sandhu

6th District Representative Hon. Frederick Chung

California Asian-Pacific American Judges Association, Inc

11138 Del Amo Blvd. #453 Lakewood, CA 90715-1103 www.CAPAJA.org capaja2020@gmail.com

Dec. 8, 2020

Dear CAPAJA Member:

We hope you all had a great Thanksgiving holiday. Here is the CAPAJA news for December:

Surprise Reception for Justice Ming Chin

On November 24, 2020, CAPAJA held a surprise Zoom reception before the November Board meeting to celebrate the career of Supreme Court Justice Ming Chin and his retirement from the Court, and to thank him for all his efforts on behalf of the Court and the community. With the assistance of CAPAJA member (and Justice Chin's son) Judge Jason Chin of the Alameda County Superior Court, who lured Justice Chin to the call on dubious grounds, Justice Chin was lauded by the Chief Justice and numerous Justices and Judges and presented with a book of letters of appreciation and congratulations. Thanks to the CAPAJA Board and everyone who wrote letters, made the book and participated in the event. We all wish Justice Chin a wonderful retirement!

December 9 Reception for Incoming Justice Martin Jenkins

CAPAJA, as a member of the California Affinity Judicial Association Coalition (CAJAC), is co-sponsoring a Zoom reception for the newest member of the California Supreme Court, Justice Martin Jenkins, who has been confirmed and will be sworn into the Court this month. At the reception, to be held on December 9 from 4:30 to 5:30 p.m., Justice Jenkins will be presented with an award by CAJAC to acknowledge his contributions to increased diversity on the bench through his work as Governor Gavin Newsom's Judicial Appointments Secretary. Justice Jenkins sent a very gracious thank you letter for CAPAJA's support for his nomination. Attached is the flyer for this reception, and all CAPAJA members are welcome to sign up and attend.

Lifetime Achievement Award for the Chief Justice

On December 1, 2020, over 200 people gathered on Zoom to celebrate CAPAJA member Chief Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye receiving a Lifetime Achievement Award from dozens of bar associations led by the Italian American Lawyers Association of Los Angeles on the occasion of her tenth anniversary as Chief Justice. Her gracious acceptance of the award was full of her usual warmth and humor, and the many speakers were unanimous in expressing the awe in which they hold her leadership. The overwhelming showing of admiration and support for the Chief was heartwarming. Congratulations - we join those present in wishing her many more successful years leading our Courts.

Save the Date for Korematsu Day Celebration

CAPAJA encourages you to Save the Date of Saturday, January 30, 2021 for a celebration co-sponsored by the Santa Clara Superior Court (including many of our CAPAJA members, led by Immediate Past President Judge Roberta Hayashi), for Fred Korematsu Day of Civil Liberties and the Constitution. The Theme will be "Building Coalitions to Fight for Racial Justice" and the program will be virtual, starting at 11 am. See the attached flyer for more details.

Court Leadership

The Los Angeles Superior Court announced that CAPAJA Treasurer Commissioner Terry Truong has been elected by the Judges of the Court to a position on its Executive Committee. Congratulations to Terry on attaining this important leadership position.

New Judges

On November 13, the Governor appointed five new APA Judges to the California Superior Court: Corrie Caraway (Butte County), Paul Baelly (Ventura County), and Rita Badhan, Alicia Blanco and Bryant Yang (L.A.). CAPAJA has contacted all the new Judges, presented them with a complimentary membership for 2021 and invited them to participate in the new CAPAJA Judicial Mentorship program. Congratulations to all our new APA Judges and welcome to CAPAJA!

CAPAJA is in the process of matching up these new judges with mentors as they request them. If you or any APA judge you know wants to be assigned a CAPAJA mentor, or if you want to be a mentor, contact the co-chairs of the CAPAJA Mentoring Committee – Judge Erica Yew (eyew@scscourt.org) or Judge Lee Tsao (<u>ltsao@lacourt.org</u>).

CAPAJA Judicial Endorsements

Throughout the COVID-19 Pandemic, the CAPAJA Judicial Endorsements Committee has continued working hard on applications that have been submitted for CAPAJA's endorsement for appointment to the Superior Court. For information on this important work and how you can help identify and support great judicial candidates, see the attached letter and contact Committee Co-Chairs Judge Lee Tsao (<u>ltsao@lacourt.org</u>) and Judge Rick Sueyoshi (<u>sueyor@saccourt.ca.gov</u>).

NAPABA

In connection with the recent election of CAPAJA member Curtis Kin as President of the NAPABA Judicial Council (NAPABA-JC), it has been requested that CAPAJA share its membership contact information (business emails only) with NAPABA-JC so that its members can be kept informed of Council activities. NAPABA-JC is planning some exciting new activities and involvement opportunities and would like to make these available to CAPAJA members.

If you do not wish your contact information to be provided to NAPAB- JC for this purpose, please let CAPAJA Secretary Michelle Ahnn know by December 31, 2020 so we can remove your name from the list to be sent to them.

If you are interested in working on a CAPAJA Committee (Education, Bar Association and Law School Outreach, Mentoring, Judicial Elections, and Administrative Law Judges) attached is a list of all Committee Co-Chairs. Please contact them directly to sign up. Also, if you are interested in working on a proposed new CAPAJA Scholarship Committee, contact President-Elect Audra Ibarra.

We appreciate your past support and look forward to working with you in the future. We are proud of the achievements of our California APA judicial officers and will work hard to serve you in the new year.

Happy Holidays, Holly J. Fujie, CAPAJA President Audra Ibarra, CAPAJA President-Elect

If you have news or know of any CAPAJA member who has been or will be honored, has spoken or will speak at an event or is taking on a new position, please let us know and we will feature it in the next newsletter.